Makeup: A Struggle for the Sebum-Endowed

If you guys didn’t know, I have extreme combination skin, with my T-zone getting really oily and the rest of it getting super dry. So makeup for me used to be a trial, because my T-zone would get horribly oily with my area around my mouth getting super dry; most eyeliners I’ve tried would smudge and make me look punched in the eye.

So I usually go through my skincare routine and head out like that, maybe with a bit of brow product and lip balm and perhaps eyeliner.

On other days, when I feel more like it, I wear a bit more makeup – whether for a pick-me-up or just because, damn it!

You oily-skinned beauties might be facing the same struggle as I – smudged liner/ brows, creased or patchy foundation, oil seeping through. With the hot humid weather that we have here, my skin gets naturally aggravated into sebum overproduction.

So, through trial and error, I’ve found various drugstore products and techniques that work great for my skin and last! Without further ado, let’s get into it!

If you’ve read my previous post on skincare (read it here!), then you’ll know I’ll start off with freshly washed, moisturized skin in the morning. I’ve also possibly mixed in some sunscreen with my moisturizer, because well, can’t leave home without SPF! If I feel like it, I mix in a drop of illuminator – Faces and Sleek make nice budget illuminators which aren’t too glittery and give a nice glow to the skin.

As I’ve said before, my sunscreen is tinted and gives me some coverage, but spots, pigmented areas and red patches don’t get covered.

On a normal day, I don’t really bother with this, but on some days when I want that perfect skin, I whip out every woman’s (or man’s) secret weapon – concealer. These days, I use Kryolan Dermacolor Camouflage Cream. I dab it on with a nice clean finger and carefully blend out the edges. That takes care of spots.

For redness, I dab on a hint of green corrector before concealer. I use Kryolan Dermacolor Camouflage Cream in D red B. The green counteracts the redness and then a little concealer on top covers it up nicely. Two thin layers of product is better than one thick layer of product which doesn’t always do its job!

I then dust a thin layer of translucent powder on top to set concealed areas as well as to keep oil at bay. I use Kryolan Translucent Powder to set. I dust this over my eyelids as well to absorb excess oil from the lids. I bake my nose and forehead a bit – i.e. I pack on extra powder and leave it on while I do the rest of my makeup and then dust it off with a brush after; I feel this reduces oil for a while longer.

On to brows – I use the super cheap Lakme Brow Pencil. It has a sort of waxy feel so it sticks on to the skin and holds on to the brown eyeshadow i apply on top with an angled brush.

On to eyes. My favourite trick for reducing oil production on the lids, cheaper than an expensive primer is Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Eyeshadow. I have Bad to the Bronze, which is slightly darker than my lid color and has some shimmer in it. I apply with fingers and it dries matte really quickly and is impossible to blend after.

I then add some eyeliner. I used to use Maybelline Gel Liner but that dries up within 2 months. Then I got Juvia’s Place Gel Liner which applies like a dream. So I either do a nice crisp wing or if I’m lazy or in a hurry, I apply a quick line and smudge it in with brown eyeshadow for a grungy look.

Lips? I put on some Lakme 9 to 5 lip liner in Brick Rose for a quick everyday look, maybe with some Maybelline Colorshow Lipstick in Caramel Custard.

On the rare everyday occasions that I’m in the mood for a red lip, I’ll throw on some MAC Ruby Woo, or if I feel like a Goth wine,  Lakme Perfect Definition Lip Liner in Black Currant, followed by some  Sugar Matte As Hell Crayon Lipstick Poison Ivy.

That’s it guys! If you have anything to share about your makeup struggles or any suggestions to make, please leave a comment in the box below. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

