Skincare: My Struggle with Super Combination Skin

About My Skin

I have really severe combination skin. That means that the region around my mouth is extremely dry – enough to become almost painfully tight, while my T-zone is extremely oily (no matter what, my face at the end of the day is always in danger of being invaded by the US for oil). In fact, my T-zone is so oily, I always assumed that my entire face was oily because it travels so much to the rest of my face!

I have struggled with breakouts, extremely sensitive skin, prone to pigmentation, and now recently – WRINKLES. I’ve not even passed my mid-20’s yet!

My skin finally passed its teenage phase of extreme breakouts and now only gets the odd annoying pimple especially when I remain sweaty and dirty from staying out all day.

 My Daily Skincare Routine

Face wash

I wake up in the morning and I wash my face with – get this – Johnson’s Baby Top to Toe Wash. Why? Because it’s extremely gentle, it doesn’t strip away natural oils from the face (this was an earlier mistake of mine – trying to get my skin squeaky clean), it doesn’t burn the eyes so you can wash that area too (really gently!) and it’s really budget friendly!

Earlier, I used to use Olay’s Gentle Clean Foaming Face Wash for Sensitive Skin, but this works just as well and more budget friendly!

Spot Attack

I hit any spots, whether big or just showing up with Kaya Acne Free Purifying Spot Corrector. This product works on me to reduce the size of spots, but when I recommended it to my sister, it didn’t seem to work on her. Odd.

Another natural remedy that works is a bit of cinnamon powder and honey mixed together and dabbed right onto the spot. Leave on for 10-20 minutes and then wash off.

Don’t make my mistake of trying this as a full face mask once. Never again. My entire face began to burn and went bright red. The honey-cinnamon scrub is also really nice as a lip scrub to moisturize and plump lips, especially before liquid lipsticks!

Moisturizer

Moisturizer is necessary even for oily skin! Believe me, I thought that my face had enough oil on it. But once I got into moisturizer, it really helped my skin.

You see, when you add a bit of water-based (NOT oil-based) moisturizer to your freshly washed skin, your skin cells don’t need to produce as much oil to moisturize it, so you’re left with soft skin – not oily.

You might find your right moisturizer hard to find, but you just need to keep trying and find the right one for your skin! Look for one that’s non-comedogenic (doesn’t clog pores) without mineral oil.

I adored the light weight CeraVe Facial Moisturizer for normal to oily skin,  but someone had sent it to me and I can’t find the same one in India. I’ve tried various others, but none seem to match.

These days I use Lakme’s Peach Milk Moisturizer which has SPF 24 PA (so I can skip the next step!), but I’m not a huge fan of it because it leaves my face quite greasy.

After patting my face dry, I use a brush to apply my moisturizer rather than my fingers because I find it much more gentle on my skin. Just make sure your brush is really clean. I wash mine every few days with a bit of Dettol hand wash.

Don’t forget to moisturize your neck!

Sunscreen

If your moisturizer has a sunscreen, you could skip this step – or go ahead if you want added protection, or mix in with your moisturizer if you’re lazy like me.

I use the Lotus Herbals Safe Sun 3 in 1 Matte Look Daily Sunblock SPF 40 PA +++ UVA UVB. This is kind of like a foundation and it dries really matte. I mix with my moisturizer for easy application and apply with a brush as above. This sunscreen really goes a long way!

Powder to set

Dust a little loose powder on your T-zone to absorb oil in this area. Translucent powder is great for this.

My Nightly Skincare Routine

When I get home, I wipe off my eye makeup with a cotton pad and some Maybelline Clean Express Eye and Lip Makeup Remover.

I then wash my face with my Johnson’s Top to Toe Baby Wash.

Then I’ve begun using a drop of Bio-Oil all over my face. I’ve found that it really helped with wrinkles on my forehead and has eased dryness and left my skin softer and a little more glowy.

I don’t use Bio-Oil in the daytime unless I’m staying in because my face gets super oily, but for a night treatment, it’s great! I haven’t broken out with it. I haven’t used it long enough to see an improvement on my pimple scars, but I think it really helped with a few other scars.

My Extended Skin Care Routine

So the above steps are what I follow everyday.

Now weekly, I occasionally do the odd mask or peel.

These days I don’t do much, although I did buy a few new sheet masks from Innisfree. I’ll review them later when I’ve tried them all. That will take a while – I’ve bought quite a few.

I mix an egg white with lemon juice and a pinch of cinnamon powder and apply on my face avoiding my eye area. Then I place a single sheet of tissue paper on top (cut to your face size and cut out holes for your eyes, mouth and nose first) and I wet it down with more of the egg white-lemon mixture. I leave it on till dry and then peel off in an upwards motion and then wash and moisturize.

I find that this has reduced my spots slightly, and tightens my skin considerably while giving a healthier glow to my face. I do this once a week and before an occasion.

Occasionally I just apply some tomato or carrot juice on my face for some time, but I don’t see a drastic difference.

I hope this helps you guys. I’ve gone through a lot of products and have hit upon my routine and have found that it really helps.

If you guys have any questions or suggestions, feel free to leave a comment below.

One thought on “Skincare: My Struggle with Super Combination Skin

Leave a Reply

